I LOVE SINGING TO BIRDS

She
I love singing to birds
and setting them free.
I knew a woman
who came to me once
in the shape of a seagull.
She could soar over the waves
and pluck a silver fish
right out of the foam.
She could rise up
on trembling wings
and hold herself steady
in a gale.
Every time I set her free
in my heart
she cried a sweet cry
and sailed in wide circles
around my body
pointing her feathers
towards the sky.
If a bird should come to me
at night, and flutter its wings
against window glass,
my heart drops this body
and throws everything wide open…
letting in wind, letting in the moon,
letting out breath to fly with that bird
up to kiss the one who watches
and keeps the sky free;
up to sail in wide circles
around that center of freedom
Who is nothing but Light.

About Blake Steele

I am a poet, writer, workshop leader, recording artist... half monk, half pirate, passionate for Life and Love to triumph in the world. I'm American by birth, but am living in Sweden for a while: writing, growing, deepening with amazing, open-hearted people, as well as developing Wild Words Creative Writing Classes and Wild Souls Workshops around the world.
This entry was posted in Consciousness, Enlightenment, Love and Beauty, Mystery, Poetry, Sacred Poetry, Spiritual Freedom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

